• Education awards nomination deadline extended March 20, 2019
    The nomination deadline for the 2019 Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education has been extended to April 30.
  • Funding provides thousands of students with new school playgrounds March 15, 2019
    The B.C. government is building 50 new playgrounds in 34 school districts this year, delivering healthier, more accessible learning environments for kids, while reducing pressure on parents to fundraise, announced Rob Fleming, Minister of Education.
  • Helping B.C. students fight lure of gangs with new ERASE strategy March 12, 2019
    Students, parents, educators, law enforcement and local partners in 12 B.C. communities will immediately begin receiving additional support and training opportunities to help at-risk kids get off the pathway to gun and gang violence, with a $1.12-million investment from the Province.
  • Safer, more efficient schools for B.C. students March 6, 2019
    Thousands of British Columbia students will learn and travel to school more safely and comfortably as $206 million flows to school districts for energy upgrades, maintenance projects and new buses. 


For your information … Coast Mountains School District’s new Board of Education School Trustees (as shared below) for the four-year term commencing November 5, 2018 to November 6, 2022 will be officially sworn in on Tuesday, November 13 at 5:00 p.m. during an informal Swearing In Ceremony to be held in the Board Room at the Board of Education Office in Terrace.

– Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Kitimat) – Raymond Apna-Raj (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Kitimat) – Karen Jonkman (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Terrace) – Art Erasmus
– Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Terrace) – Margaret Warcup
– Trustee Electoral Area 3 (Thornhill) – Sandy Watson
– Trustee Electoral Area 4 (Stewart) – Angela Brand Danuser (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 5 (Hazelton) – Shar McCrory (elected by acclamation)

The Inaugural Meeting will follow the Swearing In Ceremony and will be held at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room at the Board of Education Office.  The Inaugural Meeting will be chaired by our Secretary Treasurer, Alanna Cameron with the Board Elections as the only agenda item to determine the Board Chair, Board Vice Chair, BCPSEA Delegate, BCPSEA Alternate, BCSTA Provincial Councillor and BCSTA Alternate.

Everyone is welcome to attend the Swearing In Ceremony and the Inaugural Meeting!

The next Regular Board of Education Meeting will be held on Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Board of Education Office.

Should you have questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact Carole Gagnon, Executive Assistant at the Board of Education Office at (250) 638-4401.




Print Friendly, PDF & Email