CMSD82 News Release – Suwilaawks Community School Re-Opens, December 15, 2020  (PDF Format)


I am writing to inform you that Suwilaawks Community School will re-open on Tuesday, December 15, 2020.

Kindly note that the school will not have a full complement of regular staff, however, there will be enough regular teachers and support staff with on-call teachers and support staff to ensure the safe operation of the school.

We recognize this has been an incredibly stressful time for the school staff, students and families.  Please be assured that the school district will be providing the support necessary to ensure a safe and successful learning environment for children.

We are extremely grateful for the resilience and perseverance demonstrated by the staff, students and families of Suwilaawks Community School during these unprecedented times.

Let us all remember to focus on our personal well-being at this time while taking care and supporting one another, our students, staff and families.

We extend our appreciation for everyone’s understanding and patience during these unforeseen circumstances.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (250) 638-4407 or via, should you have any questions or you require further information.

Yours sincerely,

Janet Meyer
Superintendent of Schools

Coming Events
  • March 29: Back to School following Spring Break
  • March 30: Tsimshian Language Family Bingo Night, 6pm to 7pm (virtual)
  • April 2: Good Friday (schools are not in session)
  • April 5: Easter Monday (schools are not in session)
  • April 7: Business Cttee Meeting (virtual)
  • April 7: Education Cttee Meeting (virtual)
  • April 15: Strategic Planning Engagement Session, 12noon to 1pm (virtual)
  • April 21: Regular (Public) Board Meeting, 5pm (virtual)
  • April 22: Earth Day
  • April 23: Non-Instructional Day (schools are not in session)
  • April 28: Day of Mourning
  • April 29: Haisla Language Family Bingo (virtual), 6pm to 7pm

Northern Health Info Line

COVID-19 Online Clinic and Info Line for Northern BC residents: