• More Richmond students will learn in seismically safer schools January 21, 2021
    Nearly 700 more students in Richmond soon will be learning in safer schools when seismic upgrades are complete at James Whiteside and William Bridge elementary schools.
  • Joint statement on Black Shirt Day January 15, 2021
    Rachna Singh, Parliamentary Secretary for Anti-Racism Initiatives, and Jennifer Whiteside, Minister of Education, have released the following statement to mark Black Shirt Day on Jan. 15, 2021:
  • New Westminster students benefiting from new school January 12, 2021
    The wait is over for students in New Westminster who have begun the New Year in a new, modern, engaging and inspiring secondary school that will benefit the community now and in the future.
  • Safer school for Aldergrove elementary students January 8, 2021
    Students and staff at Shortreed Community Elementary school in Aldergrove will be better protected in the event of an earthquake, thanks to planned seismic upgrades.
Link to CMSD School Options

 Reduction in Number of Trustees

 On September 15, 2010, the Board of Education of Coast Mountains School District 82 (CMSD82) passed a motion at the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education to reduce the number of trustees from nine to seven by eliminating one trustee representative in Terrace and one trustee representative in Kitimat effective for the November 2011 election.

 Pursuant to Section 30 (4) (5) of the School Act, the Board of Education of CMSD82 requested consideration by the Minister of Education in making a variation order in relation to the aforementioned motion by providing detailed information of the consultation process, stakeholder views and population statistics relating to the school district’s Trustee Electoral Areas.

 Honourable George Abbott, Minister of Education for the Province of British Columbia, ordered on July 21, 2011, that Ministerial Order 304/96, the School District 82 (Coast Mountains) Trustee Electoral Area is amended in the manner proposed by CMSD82’s Board of Education.

 The CMSD82 Trustee Electoral Areas effective for the November 19, 2011 General School Election is provided as follows:

 Trustee Electoral Area 1 – Kitimat – Trustees (two)

– the Municipality of Kitimat, Kitamaat Village, Kemano, Klemtu, Butedale, and Cable Car Subdivision


Trustee Electoral Area 2 – Terrace – Trustees (two)

– the City of Terrace, northeast area of Kitimat-Stikine Regional District including New Remo, Kalum Lake Drive and Rosswood


Trustee Electoral Area 3 – Thornhill – Trustee (one)

– Area E of Kitimat-Stikine Regional District and the South and East portion of Area C of the Kitimat-Stikine Regional District including Copperside, Gossen, Kleanza, Lakelse Lake, Usk and Old Remo


Trustee Electoral Area 4 – Stewart/Meziadin – Trustee (one)

– the Municipality of Stewart and Area A of the Kitimat-Stikine Regional District


Trustee Electoral Area 5 – Hazelton – Trustee (one)

– the Village of Hazelton, District of New Hazelton, District of South Hazelton, Village of Kitwanga, Cedarvale and the Villages of Gitwangak, Gitanyow and Gitsegukla


For further information, please contact:


Carole Gagnon, Administration Office

Coast Mountains Board of Education, School District 82

Tel: (250) 638-4401 / Email: carole.gagnon@cmsd.bc.ca

Coming Events
  • Jan 1: Happy New Year
  • Jan 4: Back to School
  • Jan 13: Business Cttee Mtg (virtual)
  • Jan 13: Education Cttee Mtg (virtual)
  • Jan 15: Student & Kindergarten Registration Opens
  • Jan 27: Regular (Public) Board Meeting (virtual)
  • Jan 29: Non-Instructional Day (schools are not in session)

Northern Health Info Line

COVID-19 Online Clinic and Info Line for Northern BC residents: