• Education awards nomination deadline extended March 20, 2019
    The nomination deadline for the 2019 Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education has been extended to April 30.
  • Funding provides thousands of students with new school playgrounds March 15, 2019
    The B.C. government is building 50 new playgrounds in 34 school districts this year, delivering healthier, more accessible learning environments for kids, while reducing pressure on parents to fundraise, announced Rob Fleming, Minister of Education.
  • Helping B.C. students fight lure of gangs with new ERASE strategy March 12, 2019
    Students, parents, educators, law enforcement and local partners in 12 B.C. communities will immediately begin receiving additional support and training opportunities to help at-risk kids get off the pathway to gun and gang violence, with a $1.12-million investment from the Province.
  • Safer, more efficient schools for B.C. students March 6, 2019
    Thousands of British Columbia students will learn and travel to school more safely and comfortably as $206 million flows to school districts for energy upgrades, maintenance projects and new buses. 


For your information, please find the Declaration of Official Election Results for the 2018 School Trustee Election for Coast Mountains Board of Education School District 82 as officially declared today, October 22, 2018 by Cathy Jackson, Chief Election Officer.

To view the Declaration of Official Election Results document, please click on the following link:

CMSD82 Declaration of Official Election Results – 2018 General Local Election

The Chief Election Officer officially declared elected the following candidates who received the highest number of valid votes for the office of School Trustee:

– Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Kitimat) – Raymond Apna-Raj (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 1 (Kitimat) – Karen Jonkman (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Terrace) – Art Erasmus
– Trustee Electoral Area 2 (Terrace) – Margaret Warcup
– Trustee Electoral Area 3 (Thornhill) – Sandy Watson
– Trustee Electoral Area 4 (Stewart) – Angela Brand Danuser (elected by acclamation)
– Trustee Electoral Area 5 (Hazelton) – Shar McCrory (elected by acclamation)

Should you require further information, or have questions, please contact Cathy Jackson at (250) 635-1907.

CONGRATULATIONS is extended to the new Board of Education School Trustees who will represent the Board of Education of Coast Mountains School District 82 for a four-year term commencing November 5, 2018 to November 6, 2022!

Details are being finalized regarding the Swearing In Ceremony for the new Board of Education and the Inaugural Meeting which will be shared in the coming week.  Both events will be held at the Board of Education Office located at 3211 Kenney Street in Terrace. Everyone is welcome to attend.





Print Friendly, PDF & Email